BOSTON UNITED FIXTURES: Pilgrims kick off with Celtic at home, and there’s a festive derby double with Trinity too

Dennis Greene.
Dennis Greene.

Boston United will begin the new National League North season just as they concluded the last one... by facing Stalybridge Celtic.

This time, however, Dennis Greene’s Pilgrims will welcome Celtic to the Jakemans Stadium for the league contest on August 6.

Boston ended their must-win final game of the campaign with a 5-0 success at Bower Fold before going on to be knocked out of the play-offs by promoted North Ferriby.

United will then face two tricky away ties - at fellow defeated play-off side Harrogate Town (Tuesday, August 9) and newly-promoted Darlington 1883 (Saturday, August 13), who have recently snapped up former Pilgrims defender Liam Marrs.

Good news for festive fans is also the return of Christmas and New Year contests against fellow Lincolnshire outfit Gainsborough Trinity.

The two rivals will meet at the Jakemans Stadium on Boxing Day and the Northolme on January 1.

The Pilgrims are also pencilled in to visit newly-promoted Salford City, owned by Manchester United Class of 92 players Gary Neville, Phil Neville, Ryan Giggs, Paul Scholes and Nicky Butt on October 15, provided neither side are still involved in FA Cup action.

United’s final home match of the campaign will be against hotly-tipped AFC Fylde, while they conclude the season away at Curzon Ashton.

United’s Vanarama National League North fixtures in full:

Sat, Aug 6: Stalybridge Celtic (H)

Tue, Aug 9: Harrogate Town (A)

Sat, Aug 13: Darlington 1883 (A)

Tue, Aug 16: Tamworth (H)

Sat, Aug 20: Chorley (A)

Sat, Aug 27: Kidderminster Harriers (H)

Mon, Aug 29: Gloucester City (A)

Sat, Sep 3: FC United Of Manchester (H)

Tue, Sep 6: Bradford Park Avenue (H)

Sat, Sep 10: Stockport County (A)

Tue, Sep 13: Alfreton Town (H)

Sat, Sep 17: FA Cup 2Q

Sat, Sep 24: Altrincham (A)

Sat, Oct 1: FA Cup 3Q

Sat, Oct 8: Worcester City (H)

Sat, Oct 15: Salford City (A) or FA Cup 4Q

Sat, Oct 22: FC Halifax Town (H)

Sat, Oct 29: Nuneaton Town (A)

Sat, Nov 5: AFC Telford United (A) or FA Cup 1

Sat, Nov 12: Brackley Town (H)

Sat, Nov 19: AFC Fylde (A)

Sat, Nov 26: FA Trophy 3Q

Sat, Dec 3: Curzon Ashton (H) or FA Cup 2

Sat, Dec 10: FA Trophy 1

Sat, Dec 17: FC United Of Manchester (A)

Mon, Dec 26: Gainsborough Trinity (H)

Sun, Jan 1: Gainsborough Trinity (A)

Sat, Jan 7: Stockport County (H) or FA Cup 3

Sat, Jan 14: Chorley (H) or FA Trophy 2

Sat, Jan 21: Bradford Park Avenue (A)

Sat, Jan 28: Tamworth (A) or FA Cup 4

Sat, Feb 4: Harrogate Town (H) or FA Trophy 3

Sat, Feb 11: Stalybridge Celtic (A)

Sat, Feb 18: Darlington 1883 (H) or FA Cup 5

Sat, Feb 25: Nuneaton Town (H) or FA Trophy 4

Sat, Mar 4: FC Halifax Town (A)

Sat, Mar 11: Altrincham (H) or FA Cup 6/FA Trophy Semi-Final (1)

Sat, Mar 18: Worcester City (A) or FA Trophy Semi-Final (2)

Tue, Mar 21: Alfreton Town (A)

Sat, Mar 25: Salford City (H)

Sat, Apr 1: Brackley Town (A)

Sat, Apr 8: AFC Telford United (H)

Sat, Apr 15: Kidderminster Harriers (A)

Mon, Apr 17: Gloucester City (H)

Sat, Apr 22: AFC Fylde (H) or FA Cup Semi-Final

Sat, Apr 29: Curzon Ashton (A)