Kumar claims top prize for Freiston, Leake and Leverton CC

Oliver Booth.
Oliver Booth.

Ashok Kumar was named Players’ Player of the Year at Freiston, Leake and Leverton CC’s end-of-season awards.

He beat Ollie Booth, capping a remarkable season for the all-rounder.

Kumar had earlier claimed the first-team bowling trophy, whilst the batting award went to Rob Sexton.

The fielding award went to skipper Richard Paul.

The bowling performance of the season was given to John Goodfellow for his exploits at Sutton on Sea, while the batting performance went to Anwar Ul Haq for his innings in the home game against Sutton.

In the Second XI, Stewart Kirtley claimed the batting award while the bowling award went to Michael Burman.

Graham Kirtley proposed a vote of thanks on behalf of the player to Mick, Graham Clayton and Steve Paul for their sterling efforts of the field all season.