Fleeting success sees Amin finish in style

Amin Annous is handed the Fleet Cup by Peter Barton.
Amin Annous is handed the Fleet Cup by Peter Barton.

AMIN Annous finished the summer season in style as he claimed Boston Golf Club’s Fleet Cup on countback.

He returned with nett 66, the same as closest rival Jonathan Hull.

The Fleet Cup signals the end of the summer season proper and, with the unclaimed hole-in-one fund added to the prize fund; there is always a large entry with prizes going down to 12th place.

The event is played as a medal in relatively easy conditions.

Leaderboard: 1 Amin Annous (14) 66, 2 Jonathan Hull (11) 66, 3 Nigel Simpson (13) 67, 4 Dave Carter (5) 67, 5 Richard Goy (12) 69, 6 Andrew Green (6) 69, 7 Peter Pearson (9) 69, 8 John Barrett (17) 70, 9 Eddie Markham (14) 70, 10 Trevor West (19) 71, 11 Andrew Malkinson (10) 71, 12 Sam Dawson (1) 71, 13 Mark Brown (17) 71. 

The day also saw the presentation by club captain Peter Barton of all of the major cups played for over the season, including the Order of Merit, sponsored by Country Gourmet.

Played as a cumulative points score over eight medal competitions throughout the season, with the best five to count, it rewards the most consistent performer throughout the campaign.

This year sponsor Mick Wood was left scratching his head as Michael Hobbs and Nathan Cook were left tied with the same score and one cup.

Mick quickly resolved the issue by generously electing to buy a replica cup and double the prize fund for the winners.

This year’s winners were: Country Gourmet Order of Merit: Michael Hobbs & Nathan Cook (tied); Woodthorpe Cup & Cooper Cup: James Lavery; Islands Trophy: Mick Wood; Wizard Trophy: Glenn Tyler; Fleet Cup: Amin Annous; Reynolds Cup (handicap pairs): Andrew Malkinson and Graham Sharp.

In the Ladies’ Medal Finals, Ros Martin won by three shots with a nett 67, three clear of Pam Hyde, who had a nett 70.

Leaderboard: 1 Ros Martin (27) 67, 2 Pam Hyde (18) 70, 3 Lynn Worthington (36) 72, 4 Jean E Markham (15) 72, 5 Jackie Short (17) 72, 6 Ruth Simpson (8) 74, 7 Lois Williamson (19) 75, 8 Julia West (20) 76, 9 Marian Smith (28) 77, 10 Rita Knaggs (18) 82.

Nev Kemp continued his excellent form in the seniors with win in the September Medal following a nett 69, which saw him edge out Tony Sherwin by one shot.

Leaderboard: 1 Neville A. Kemp (14) 69, 2 Tony Sherwin (18) 70, 3 Don Hulse (27) 71, 4 Pat Gaunt (14) 73, 5 Eddie Markham (14) 74.

In the September seniors’ stableford, it was a good win for Mike Priestley with 38 points, well clear of the chasing pack.

The best of the rest was Steve Locke with 35 points.

There was also a notable performance by Charles Russell, who scored 32 points on the day.