Hutchinson stakes his claim for Wheelers title

WEEK five of this year’s time trial saw yet another rider stake a claim on the championship with Paul Hutchinson posting the fastest time of the year.

With school holidays and the tour series race at Peterborough causing a reduced turn out on the evening, Darren Smith was hoping to take pole position in the league only to have his opportunity foiled by Paul.

Come August it looks like things are going to be very tight at the top.

Results: 1 Paul Hutchinson, 23.51, 2 Darren Smith, 24.54, 3 Pete Flint, 26.14, 4 Gary Nelson, 30.59, 5 C. Ward 25.13, (pt).

Charlie Porter took part in round three of the Lincs League road race at Lincoln and managed to finish a creditable 12th.