Council announces plans for the administration of the authority

Boston District Council offices, West Street, Boston. EMN-140503-125058001
Boston District Council offices, West Street, Boston. EMN-140503-125058001

Boston Borough Council has announced a ‘soft’ coalition between the 13-strong Conservative group and two independents has been formed for the administration of the authority.

A vote will take place next Thursday at the Annual Meeting of the Council to confirm the positions, however, a statement from the council said the plan is for the Tories to be joined in coalition by independent members Couns Richard and Alison Austin.

UKIP won 13 seats at last week’s election, which left them tied however, Coun Barrie Pierpoint has since left the group and is now the council’s third independent.

Labour has two seats on the council and party leader Coun Paul Gleeson said they will continue in their roles on scrutiny committees.

He said the two councillors would remain separate to any other groups and vote the way they felt was right in any future debates.

He added the party would not be voting to support UKIP members having control in the council on Thursday.

An entirely Conservative, cabinet has also been drafted up.

Coun Bedford said: We have a good mix of people for the council’s Cabinet – some with council experience and all of them very level headed.

“These are people the residents of the town and borough and the staff of the council can have confidence in.

“They will help drive forward good governance and performance from the firm basis provided by the past four years.

“We are all committed to the regeneration of Boston, for which much of the groundwork has now been done.

“National chains are showing confidence in Boston with expansion and new development and we will continue to seek value for money with shared services such as the current arrangements for refuse collection that we have with East Lindsey District Council and CCTV with South Holland and North Kesteven District Councils.”

Cabinet members are planned to voted in as follows:

Coun Peter Bedford remains leader of the Conservative group.

Coun Peter Bedford, leader, responsibilities for coastal strategy strategic planning – conservation/heritage/local development framework, county and regional partnerships, transformation programme, development control, Port of Boston, regeneration and media.

Coun Michael Brookes, deputy leader, performance and waste services – street cleansing, green waste, refuse and recycling, democratic services, parish councils, performance and improvement.

Coun Aaron Spencer, finance and corporate governance – finance (including revenues and benefits), procurement, IT, corporate governance, customer services, Freedom of Information, complaints.

Coun Stephen Woodliffe, regulatory services – building control, environmental health, community safety, emergency planning, health and safety, licensing and land charges.

Coun Paul Skinner, town centre – town centre development and management, car parks, markets and public toilets. He takes over from Coun Derek Richmond.

Coun Claire Rylott, grounds and open spaces – leisure services, parks and open spaces, country parks and reserves, playing fields, tree management, crematoria and cemeteries, allotments and grounds maintenance. She takes over from Coun Yvonne Gunter.

Coun Ben Evans, housing, property and community - housing, community transport, property, homelessness, older people, community development and voluntary sector support. He takes over from Coun Mike Gilbert.