Boston councillors join UKIP breakaway group

Lincolnshire County Council
Lincolnshire County Council

Two of Boston’s UKIP councillors have joined their ousted leader in a new breakaway group on Lincolnshire County Council.

Bob McAuley and Tiggs Keywood-Wainwright have followed former leader Chris Pain to the new ‘UKIP Lincolnshire’ group at County Hall.

The group was formed after a majority of UKIP members this week voted to remove Coun Pain, who is currently in a dispute with the national party chairman Steve Crowther.

Coun Pain, who represents Wainfleet and Burgh county division, will lead the new group, which also includes Spalding East and Moulton’s Richard Fairman, Alan Jesson of Spalding South and Gainsborough Hill’s John Beaver.

The UKIP split means it is no longer the official opposition on the county council, with the main party group only now amounting to ten councillors.

Labour, with 12 members, now becomes the official opposition.

Bob McAuley, of Boston West, and Tiggs Keywood-Wainwright, of Boston North-West, also both hold seats on Boston Borough Council.