Candidates for Frampton and Holme by-election announced

THE candidates for the by-election of Frampton and Holme Ward have been announced.

There are five candidates standing for the seat which was formerly occupied by Independent Brian Rush.

They are Independent Stuart John Ashton, of Frampton Fen; Independent Maggie Peberdy, of Frampton; UKIP candidate Sue Ransome, of Wyberton; Conservative Claire Rebecca Rylott, of Kirton Holme; and Labour candidate Mike Sheridan-Shinn, of Boston.

Mr Rush resigned from his seat in early September after ‘many months of soul-searching’, and returning symptoms of a long-standing health issue.

He had been in the post for five-and-a-half years.

As he left, Mr Rush gave a damning verdict of the current administration accusing it of not taking adequate account of the views of Boston people.

He added the change of leadership in May 2011 had not brought the ‘fresh dynamic’ he had hoped for.

The Frampton and Holme by-election to fill the vacant seat will be held on Thursday, October 18.