UKIP split down the middle

The Boston Borough Council building.
The Boston Borough Council building.

The borough UKIP party has split down the middle it has been confirmed today (Tuesday).

A Boston Borough Council spokesman confirmed that six of the party - Couns Sue Ransome, Liz Ransome, Felicity Ransome, Stephen Raven, James Edwards and Vivan Edge - approached the authority to register themselves under the UKIP party banner. Coun Raven was confirmed as leader.

It leaves Couns Jonathan Noble, Anton Dani, Yvonne Stevens, Brian Rush, Stephen Ball and David Brown, who have formed The UKIP Group.

In a statement released to The Standard, The UKIP Group leader, Coun Noble, stated ‘we will uphold the principles and policies under which we were elected to serve the people of Boston’.

He said: “We aim to be an effective, pro-active opposition group which will hold the Conservative administration to account in the interests of the good governance of Boston borough.”

A spokesman for Coun Raven’s UKIP group said there had been a disagreement over the election of the party’s leader on Friday night which lead to a stalemate.

A further disagreement on the deciding vote saw Coun Raven’s six UKIP councillors approach Boston Borough Council yesterday (Monday) to file the papers staking their claim to the UKIP name.

The spokesman added: “An email was then sent to the other six councillors saying they were very welcome to join us and that we would hold another fair election in the future.”

Both parties are claiming affiliation with UKIP headquarters.

More to follow.