He’s not run of the Mill! Boston United striker Ricky Miller is the Conference North Player of the Year

Ricky Miller.
Ricky Miller.

Boston United striker Ricky Miller has been named as the Skrill North’s Player of the Year.

The hotshot marked his return to York Street by scoring 28 goals in all competitions last season.

Incredibly, 24 of those goals came in league matches.

Miller - who is out of contract and currently weighing up offers before he decides where to play next season - was announced as the winner at the Football Conference’s annual congress and dinner at Celtic Manor, Newport, yesterday.

Miller - who bagged three hat-tricks last season, as well as the Boston United Player of the Year title - was also named in the Conference North’s team of the season, alongside teammate Carl Piergianni.

Amazingly, the team of the year only included one player from champions AFC Telford United, Simon Grand.

Striker Anthony Wilson was the only inclusion from second-placed North Ferriby United.

Play-off winners Altrincham had the most representatives in the XI, with four players while Guiseley, who pipped the Pilgrims to fifth spot on the final day of the season, also had two incluions.

There was more good news for the club as The Pilgrim - United’s matchday magazine - was named as Programme of the Year for the third season running.

The Skrill North Team of the Year: Steven Drench (Guiseley), Shaun Densmore (Altrincham), Simon Grand (Telford), Carl Piergianni (Boston United), Darren Campion (Hednesford); Gavin Rothery (Guiseley), Nicky Clee (Altrincham), Adam Griffin (Altrincham); Ricky Miller (Boston United), James Walshaw (Altrincham), Anthony Wilson (North Ferriby).