Newsham ‘delighted’ with back-to-back Boston United Player of the Year awards

Newsham is puctured with Paul Roberts of Turnbull & Co.
Newsham is puctured with Paul Roberts of Turnbull & Co.

Marc Newsham has become just the second player in history to win back-to-back Player of the Year titles at Boston United.

The striker - who netted his 30th goal of the season during the Pilgrims’ 4-3 defeat to Brackley on Saturday - was voted as the fans’ top player for the second time running.

The only other person to achieve that accolade was Newsham’s old teammate Shaun Pearson, who did exactly the same in 2010 and 2011.

But the gongs didn’t end there for Newsham, who was also named as the Players’ Player of the Year and the BUSA Player of the Year.

“I’m delighted to receive all three awards, but to get the players’ player one - the recognition of the boys - is great,” said the forward, who became the first player to net 30 goals in a season in 21 years.

The last man to do that for United was Gary Jones (31) in 1992.

Cook, Paul Bastock, Jim McKenna and Steve Appleby are the other players to have won it twice.

Boston United end of season awards:

Turnbull & Co Player of the Year: 1 Marc Newsham, 2 Ian Ross, 3 Ben Milnes.

Boston Anoral Company Players’ Player of the Year: 1 Marc Newsham, 2= Ian Ross, Ben Milnes.

BUSA Player of the Year: Marc Newsham.

BUSA Juniors Favourite Player: Conor Marshall.

York Street Veterans’ Player of the Year: Ian Ross.

Reserves Player of the Year: Keiron Elliott.

Reserves’ Players’ Player: Keiron Elliott.

Paragon Print and Packaging Youth Team Award: Aaron Eyett.

Dick Carrington Memorial Trophy: Positive Pilgrims.

BUSA Special Recognition: Mick Small.