editorial image

Railway Athletic, Leverton, Coningsby and Heckington Millers all pulled off some shocks in the Sharman Burgess Sports Cup, all toppling Premier League opposition.

Division Three side Railway deserve top billing after dumping Premier title-chasers and county cup semi-finalists Swineshead out of the competition following a 2-1 home win.

Liam Nimmo and Danny Woods struck the crucial goals for Railway, who began the day 36 league places below their opponents.

Division Two leaders Leverton made the journey to Premier League Ruskington Rovers, leaving with a 5-1 victory.

Nathan Rippin, Danny Goddard, Dom Goddard (two) and Andy Brown cancelled out Dominic Armstrong’s finish.

Division One side Coningsby turned their tie around in dramatic fashion when Skegness Town Reserves looked like sneaking through 1-0.

Mark Wheatley’s late equaliser, however, sent the match into extra time and the underdogs never looked back after that.

Further goals from Sean Taylor (penalty), James Todd and Tom Sewell made the final score 4-1.

Michael Parnham had opened the scoring for Skegness.

Old Leake crashed out of the competition at Division One promotion chasers Heckington Millers.

Lawrie Gianassi and Kane Brown (two) secured a 3-1 result.

Benington were the day’s biggest winners in the third round of the Sharman Burgess Sports Cup after an emphatic 9-0 drubbing of Second Division side Sibsey.

Daniel Busch (three), Gavin Bell (two), Tom Baxter (two), Ben Hardstaff and Ricky Drury all found the net.

Fishtoft dominated their tie against plucky Division Two side Westside Rangers but only jut edged home 3-2.

Adam Broome, who had played the first half in goal, Neil Allen and Jamie Skinner netted for Fishtoft before two late goals gave them a scare.

Billinghay Athletic beat Wyberton Reserves 4-1, Nicky Frost grabbing his side’s consolation.

In a re-arranged first-round match at AFC Tetford, Spilsby Town breezed through to the next round following a 6-1 away win.

Dan Smith hit a hat-trick while Jake Akers, Adam Dales and Travis Herberts also got on the scoresheet.