Six new sides accepted into Boston Saturday League

Local sport from the Boston Standard, Lincolnshire:, on Twitter @standardduncan
Local sport from the Boston Standard, Lincolnshire:, on Twitter @standardduncan

Six new teams will compete in the Boston and District Saturday League.

Four new clubs - AFC Tetford, Boston College, Heckington Millers and Rippingale & Folkingham (first team and reserves) - were accepted into the league at the AGM.

Swineshead Institute, who already compete in the league, also had their request to field an A team accepted.

During last season, Boston United Community, Queens Rangers, Fosdyke Reserves and Woodhall Spa United Reserves had all withdrawn their teams.

And with Burgh Utd, Spalding Town, Spilsby Town Reserves and Tulip not submitting applications for the upcoming season, it was proposed that the Premier Division would have 14 Teams, with 12 teams in Division One and Three and 13 teams in Division Two.

Spalding Harriers asked to drop down to Division Two (despite not being relegated) while new teams Heckington Millers and Rippingale & Folkingham (first team) had been placed in Division Two.

Rippingale & Folkingham volunteered to be placed in Division One, so that Spalding Harriers could move to Division Two.

It was proposed the new season will begin on Saturday, August 24 and finish on Saturday, May 17.

Awards were also handed out to last season’s leading scorers.

The recipients were: Premier Division – Daniel White (Wyberton, 31 goals), Division One – Scott Mackay (Wrangle, 26), Division Two – Liam Shinn (Nelson, 35), Division Three – Giles Favell (Swineshead Res, 37).