Aegon club competition

Local sport from the Boston Standard, Lincolnshire:, on Twitter @standardduncan
Local sport from the Boston Standard, Lincolnshire:, on Twitter @standardduncan

The Aegon Team Tennis competitions are in full flow for Boston Tennis Club members.

Boston Men’s Seconds earned a second victory, beating Horncastle 5-1 thanks to Calum McCaig, Alex Cobb, Dominic Layton-Hannam, James Newton and Mike Burnett.

The Thirds - Thomas Cozens, Toby McDonnell-Woods, Joe Parla and Ryan Frankish - lost 1-5 at Deeping.

The Ladies’ team beat Louth Indoor 5-1. Emma Mastin, Victoria Needham, Charlotte Priestley and Jane Hindmarch all competed.

The under 16 boys’ B team - Connall Newton, Michael Niedermeier, Trent Hutson and Robert Hayes - beat Deeping 5-1.

The C - George Wookey, Matthew Dickens, Nicholas Hart and Henry Thorogood - missed out to a very strong Spalding team while the D - Matthew Cheer, Alexander Pinchin, Luke Cocks and Siddhart Anand - lost at Grantham B team.

Boston’s under 14 boys B team of Thomas Hull, Trent Hutson, George Wookey and Harvey Vickers lost out 1-5 to Deeping, in a game including three tie-break sets.

The under 12 boys - Alastair Boothby, Max Mecklenburgh, Tom Mecklenburgh and Ben Robson- added a second win to their endeavours when they beat Grantham B 5-1.

The mini tennis Orange A - Isabel Wookey, Lois Boothby, Hannah Willis and Will Shears - won overall against Grantham A and Boston Orange B - James Burrell, Emily Stukins, James Gedney and Finley Mackey - beat Grantham B without losing a rubber.

The Lincolnshire Slazenger Seniors League saw Boston Ladies losing out to Bourne but beating Grimsby and drawing with Eastgate, Jenny McGarel, Linda Barrow, Rachel Gedney, Rachel Atkinson and Sue Burnett in action.

The Men’s squad - Chris Cook, Ray Frankish, James Newton, Jeremy George-Jones and Geoff Presland - beat Appleby Frodingham and drew with St James, Grimsby.

The Seconds beat St James but lost to Grantham and Scotter.

Richard Hart, Fred Calvert, Andy Clamp Henry Cheer, Sev Smura, Mickey Audus and David Makins have all competed.