Anglian League success for Boston Swimming Club

Local sport from the Boston Standard, Lincolnshire:, on Twitter @standardduncan
Local sport from the Boston Standard, Lincolnshire:, on Twitter @standardduncan
Share this article

Two teams from Boston Amateur Swimming Club were back in action in Anglian League competition.

The Boston A team were in action at Thetford looking to continue their domination of the 2014 competition, while Boston B travelled to Whittlesey, near Peterborough.

Over at Thetford, Boston A got off to a good start, with race wins coming in the first six events from Charlize Arundell (girls’ open 100m individual medley), Chloe Baldry (girls’ 15/u 100m butterfly), Thomas Liddy (boys’ 13/u 100m freestyle) and Aliesha Bower (girls’ 13/u 100m freestyle) and by the end of the 10th they were four points ahead of Thetford Dolphins.

The team continued to maintain their lead over the next 10 races, with maximum points being added by Millie Prudden (girls’ open 50m fly), Lewis Bontoft (boys’ 15/u 100m freestyle), Thomas Liddy (boys’ 13/u 100m backstroke) and Jason Barnes (boys’ open 50m freestyle).

With a five-point cushion going into the final 10 events, the swimmers continued their winning ways to see Boston A again come away with maximum points.

Final standings: 1 Boston A 103, 2 Thetford Dolphins 94, 3 West Norfolk 82.

Over at Whittlesey, Connor Spinks got the team off to a winning start in the boys’ open 100m freestyle event.

Myles Beagles also scored maximum points in the boys’ 13/u freestyle and a number of second places saw the team in third place after 10 events.

Swimmers continued to swim well during the night with several personal best swims, but the team couldn’t catch up with the teams from St Ives and Wisbech, finishing third overall on the night.

Final standings: 1 Wisbech 85, 2 St Ives 82, 3 Boston B 77, 4 March 65.

Boston A – Race wins: Charlize Arundell (three), Chloe Baldry, Jason Barnes, Lewis Bontoft, Aliesha Bower, Thomas Liddy (two), Sam Macleod, Lewis McGarry, Millie Prudden (2), Isaac Reed.

Boston B – Race wins: Myles Beagles, Cavan Chambers, William Pettitt (2), Edward Proctor, Connor Spinks, Oliver Street.

Boston A – Personal bests: Charlize Arundell, Jason Barnes, Aliesha Bower (two), Thomas Liddy (two), Sam Macleod, Lewis McGarry, Jessica Pearson, Millie Prudden.

Boston B - Personal bests: Rosanna Abbott, Myles Beagles, Cavan Chambers, Kieva Clegg, Harley Maddison, William Pettitt, Edward Proctor, Joe Reed (two), Connor Spinks.