Anniversary celebrations for Atkins

editorial image
Share this article

Mark Atkins was the worthy winner of the Anniversary Cup at Kirton Holme Golf Club, carding a gross 78, nett 64.

Dave Beeson was second with a gross 86, nett 66 and Chris Miller third with a gross 82, nett 68.

Mark also won the Tigers’ April Medal and Dave Beeson claimed the Rabbit’s Medal.

Jamie Saunby won the April Stableford with 40 points, with Nick Coupland second with 39 and Pete Sharman third with 37.

The May Tigers’ medal was won on countback by Jason Ward with a gross 80, nett 66.

Simon Horton was second, carding a gross 73, nett 66 and Mark Bellamy was third with a gross 84, nett 67.

The Rabbit’s May medal winner was David Mowbray with a gross 90, nett 62.

Runner-up was David Mason with a gross 87, nett 65 and Matthew Bainbridge third with a gross 92, nett 65.

The May Stableford was won by Carl East with 41 points ahead of second-placed Mark Grayling (40) and Colin Graves in third (37).

The Kirton Holme A team have struggled in the league, losing 6-0 away at South Kyme, 5.5-1.5 at home to Sutton Bridge and 4.5-2.5 at home to Sudbrook Moor.

It has been a different story in the cup competitions, where they beat Boston Golf Club in the Elsham Trophy, winning on the first play-off hole.

The Rabbits drew their first game 3-3 against Boston West before losing to Gedney 6.5-0.5.

The Senior team have fared better, with wins against Pottergate 4.5-1.5 and Sudbrook Moor 6-0 .

Despite losing 4.5-1.5 to Gedney, they are currently top of their league.

In the Senior’s section, Ron Hulley won the April Medal, carding a gross 87, nett 69.

Jerry Gill was second with a gross 82, nett 70 and Cliff Edmondson third with a gross 88 nett 71.

In May the Seniors’ Medal, the winner was Mick Pickett with a gross 80, nett 66.

Barry Carter was second with a gross 79, nett 67 and Richard Toy came third with a gross 96, nett 70.

The Seniors’ May Stableford winner on countback was Graham Morris with 39 points, with John Woodhead second - also with 39 - and Ron Hulley third with 37.