BBC commentator award for hammer thrower Marc

Share this article

THE PAUL Dickenson Hammer Award was handed out for the first time at Boston and District Athletic Club’s recent presentation evening.

The award, in the form of a picture of Yuriy Sedykh the current holder of the men’s world hammer record, was donated by former international hammer thrower Paul Dickenson now BBC commentator and the voice of athletics in television coverage of the sport. First winner of the award was Marc Bradbury who achieved the highest percentage of Grade One in the AAA Standards Scheme.

Two other awards were introduced this year for road running achievements.

Marc also earned an Outstanding Athlete Award for his discus achievements when he represented Lincolnshire in the Intermediate Boys event at the ESAA Championships for the second successive year.

President Beryl Clay said that 2010 had been a good year for members with improved performances in a wide range of running, jumping and throwing events.

The performances in seven 2010 road races were taken into account with the best five results age-graded and counting towards the award.

Winner of the first Lady Road Running Award was Emma Penniston with veteran Dennis Rainbow winning the Male Road Running Award.

l In the Under 13 age group the Rising Star Awards were presented to the male and female athlete assessed on the highest percentage of any one discipline of the AAA Standards Scheme 2010 Grade One.

The Female Rising Star award was awarded to Selina Wells for her 200m and shot putt performances and Zac McDonnell Woods was presented with the Male Rising Star award for his achievement in javelin.

Paul Kenny presented Young Athletes League Club Athlete of the Match Awards for 2010.

l In the first match in the series the female ‘athlete of the match’ was Sarah Jane Price who earned her prize for her 100m performance which was 80.5 per cent of Grade One on the AAA Standards Scheme.

In the male section Oliver Smith was athlete of the match with Grade Four performances in both long jump and !00m.

l In match two Alice Flint took the plaudits for her 800m run which was calculated at 84.92 per cent of Grade One and Aidan McClure earned the male award with his Under 17 high jump clearance.

l Rebekah Locking’s Grade Two 75m hurdles performance won the female award in the third match in the series and Marc Bradbury was head and shoulders man of the match with a Grade One discus throw and also achieved a Grade Two in shot putt and a Grade Three in hammer.

l In the final match in the series Maria Hollingsworth was a convincing winner of the female athlete of the match prize with a Grade One time in the Under 15 Girls 75m hurdles race.

She also recorded a Grade Three time in the 100m and a Grade Four standard in the javelin throw.

Maria made her debut in two Under 15 Girls English Schools Championships last season.

Qualifying for the 75m hurdles event in July Maria’s track and field season culminated in her progression to the ESAA Combined Events Finals where she contested the Junior Girls Pentathlon Championship.

l Three members were part of the Lincolnshire Schools Senior Teams which won through to the English Schools Combined Events Championships with Stephan Brockett in the winning Boys team and Melanie Bristow and Chelsea Brockett comprising fifty per cent of the Under 19 Girls team.

l Daniel Martin received his first award for club athletics when he recorded the best time in the 400m event to earn him the male athlete of the match award.

l In the Under 15 Boys age group sprinter Oliver Smith had produced a number of impressive performances during the year and qualified for the Junior Boys 200m Championships at the English Schools AA Track and Field Championships at Birmingham’s Alexander Stadium.

l In the Under 11 age group three members were awarded a certificate of merit for their track and field performances in 2010.

Jack Rushby, Kieron Pickwell and Matthew Connolly received recognition for their efforts in inter club competitions.

l Stressing the high regard the club placed on loyalty the president announced the names of 21 members who were awarded Commendable Supporters Awards having competed in at least four track and field or cup matches last year.

Rebekah Locking, Oliver Smith and Sarah Jane Price made seven appearances for the club; Louise Rutt, Jose Ferriera, Jeremy Baily Dennis Rainbow and Christopher Fitzpatrick all competed for the Gold Tops in six inter club matches; seven athletes represented BADAC in five league competitions - David Walker, Isabelle Whitehead, Maria Hollingsworth, Mark Bridges, Melanie Bristow, Phil Peatling and Stephan Brockett; the final six qualifiers in this category, with four appearances each, were Geoge Ashcroft, Lewis Skinner, Sam Johnson, Wednesday Pywowariw, Owen Msimango and Mark Bowler.

l Members of the winning team and the runners up in the Thirty Minute Challenge competitions staged at the B Hive in 2010 were acknowledged.

The Loafers team, comprising Aidan McClure, Jose Ferriera, Dennis Rainbow and George Ashcroft recorded 9,660m to post up the record distance for the event.

The Loafers were pushed all the way by the No Hopers who achieved 9,540m.

The No Hopers quartet consisted of David Walker, Mark Bridges, Jeremy Baily and Marc Bradbury and they retain second position on the Thirty Minute Challenge ranking list.

l Outstanding Supporters Awards went to six Gold Tops who competed in all four Lincolnshire Track and Field League matches and four Young Athletes or North of England League fixtures.

As well as competing in all Lincs League matches Emma Penniston represented BADAC in all four North of England matches and all four Young Athlete League fixtures for the full set.

l Aiden McClure was just one outing short of Emma’s record with 11 representations and Marc Bradbury earned his award for 10 league matches.

l Alice Flint, on nine outings, was just one ahead of both Chelsea Brockett and Luke Macleod.

l Eight members were recipients of Commendable Athletes Awards having achieved either Grade Two or Three in the AAA of England 2010 Standards Scheme or having been selected to represent the county during the season.

l Senior Wayne Clarke achieved a Grade Two standard in Hammer and Under 20 Stephan Brockett vaulted higher than the Grade Three Pole Vault Standard.

l Hermione Wright achieved Grade Three in 200m; Becky Locking the same grade in 75m hurdles as did Under 17 Aidan McClure in high jump; Under 13 Selina Wells qualified for Grade Three in both 200m and shot putt; John Gleadell represented the county in the Special Olympics and Alice Flint represented Lincolnshire in the 300m hurdles.