Becky Reeson claims her first senior title at Boston Indoor Bowls Club

Easter Tournament winners Carol Clarke, Steve Todd, Joan Sharp and Keith Sharp receive their trophy from Michael Pragnall of Ralphland Care Home.
Easter Tournament winners Carol Clarke, Steve Todd, Joan Sharp and Keith Sharp receive their trophy from Michael Pragnall of Ralphland Care Home.

THERE have been winners galore at the indoor bowls finals events...

Club Finals

THE ladies’ Mottram Singles saw Becky Reeson win her first senior title 13-7 against Chris Bristow.

The under 18 Junior Singles was a success for Hannah Kitchen, who saw off the challenge of Lewis Skinner 21-13.

The men’s Two-wood Handicap singles, Mark Freemantle (+4) fell to Simon Reeson (0) 19-10.

The ladies’ Webster Singles was an even game, with Janet Vinter leading Pat Weaver at nine ends 7-5, but two counts of four and a three pulled Janet away to win 18-7.

Jonathan West contested the under 25 singles final, and also the Champion of Champions singles final.

In the latter, he was matched against Ian Clark.

Jonathan built up a substantial lead, which Ian fought gallantly to retrieve, but Jonathan eventually succeeded 21-16.

In the Under 25 singles against Ryan Huskisson, Jonathan led 15-8 – but Ryan fought back to 15-14.

Jonathan picked up two more shots, but Ryan levelled and went ahead 17-18.

Jonathan levelled 18-18 then picked up a count of 1-4 to win 23-18 a superb game from the club’s two best juniors.

The Mixed Pairs title went to Tina Reeson and Martin Tomlin.

The Men’s Pairs was another win for Jonathan West, playing with John Spencer, who saw off Colin Palmer and Keith French 13-9. The Handicapped Pairs saw both pairings playing off scratch in the final.

Another top game for the spectators saw Matt Whyers and Jonathan West winning 18-17 against Chris Gill and Martin Tomlin.

The Mixed Triples title saw Chelsea Tomlin, Ian Clark and Martin Tomlin win 21-18 against Jo Sharp, Keith Thorlby and Keith Sharp.

The Men’s Triples was a one-sided affair.

Successful in that competition were Matt Whyers, Ian Clark and Mick Tomlin 14-5 against Alex Tomlin, Chris Gill and Martin Tomlin.

The Dickerson Fours saw Mick Tomlin skipping for Chelsea Tomlin, Alex Tomlin and Ian Clark, against Steve Shaw, Richard Toy, Ted Bourne and Richard White.

The latter were hanging in at 12 ends played when they were just three behind, but the eventual final score was 19-8 to Mick and his partners.

The Ladies Pairs title went to Jean Cammack and Di Wilson, but in the Ladies Triples, aided by Chelsea Tomlin, they fell to Jenny Hill, Gill Grant and Sheila King 15-12.

Those spectators present will argue that they witnessed the best final in the Junior Fours when Liam Reeson, Michaela Reeson, Daniel Harrison and Lewis Skinner leading 10-0 against Livvy Simpson, Rebecca Clare, Reece Skinner and Kirsty Sansam, which saw the latter fighting back to level 10-10.

At the last end played the bowls could not be separated, thus the game went to an extra end which saw Lewis and partners lift the title.

County bowls

AT THE EBA finals at Lincoln, Boston’s Chelsea Tomlin retained her under 25 title when she was successful against clubmate Charlie Reeson 21-8.

The Ladies Triples event was won by Chelsea Tomlin, Gill Grant and Di Wilson.

The three, along with Sue Simpson-Shaw, fell in the Ladies Fours final.

The National EBF Finals at Newark saw Chelsea Tomlin, Ian Clark and Gary Morris lifted the Mixed Triples title.

Chelsea Tomlin, Sue Simpson Shaw and Di Wilson fell in the final of the Ladies Triples.

Ralphland Care Home Easter Tournament

JO SHARP, Carol Clarke, Steve Todd and Keith Sharp have won this year’s Easter Tournhament at Boston Indoor Bowls Club.

The event, sponsored by Ralphland Care Home, saw a full turnout.

The winners dids so with 41 points, beating runners-up Bob Davis, Ken Cherry, John Needham and Maurice Elding from Spalding.

In third spot were Jake Hewinson, Jan Bailey, Ray Woods and Dave Bailey, with 36 pts.

Fourth spot went to Iris Reeson, Stan Lawrence, Bunny Reeson and Arnold Bennett with 35 points.