Boston swimmers claim Anglian League victory

Local sport from the Boston Standard, Lincolnshire:, on Twitter @standardduncan
Local sport from the Boston Standard, Lincolnshire:, on Twitter @standardduncan

The Geoff Moulder Leisure Pool in Boston played hosts to two Boston sides and a team from Wisbech in the second round of the 2015 Anglian League competition.

Boston A were looking to make amends for losing vital points in the first round of this competition earlier in the year.

With many of the usual team members competing in Nottinghamshire at the Ernehale meet, it opened the door for some of the Club’s less experienced League swimmers to have a swim for both the A and B teams, and they didn’t disappoint with several personal bests gained on the evening.

It was looking to be a dominant evening for Boston A as they won the first 14 of the first 18 races, with Boston B and Wisbech B sharing second and third places evenly throughout.

By the half-way point Boston A were 19 points ahead of Wisbech B, with Boston B just one point behind them.

The pattern for the next half of the evening was very similar to the first – Boston A dominant, Wisbech and Boston B teams sharing the seconds and thirds, which set up a thrilling final 6x50m freestyle relay event between these two sides, with Wisbech just ahead going into the race.

Boston B dug in to take second place by less than a 10th of a second to gain the point to see them come joint second with Wisbech.

Final points: Boston A 88, Boston B and Wisbech B 59.

The two Boston teams will next compete in Thetford at the end of June.

Race wins: Boston A - Charlize Arundell (three), Chloe Baldry (two), Jason Barnes (two), Libby Dean-Allen, Niamh Dunn, Sam Macleod (two), Edward Proctor (two), Millie Prudden (four), Isaac Reed (two), Jessica Sauntson, Connor Spinks, Lottie Street, Joseph Vickers (two); Boston B - Lewis Moses, Eloise Winterflood.

Personal Bests: Oliver Abrantes (two), Charlize Arundell (two), Chloe Baldry, Jason Barnes, Myles Beagles (two), Emily Bontoft, Connor Boyfield (two), Lillia Chaffey, Libby Dean-Allen, Niamh Dunn, Megan Glynn, James Hutchings, Gwion Joyce, Xristina Keeler (two), Joshua Lenton, Amelia Locking, Jessica Pearson (two), Harvey Potts (two), Edward Proctor, Millie Prudden (two), Isaac Reed (two), Jack Robinson (two), Jessica Sauntson, Lottie Street, Joseph Vickers (two), Eloise Winterflood (two).