Boston tennis stars claim top prizes at county awards night


BOSTON Tennis Club players and teams received trophies and awards at the Lincolnshire LTA Awards night, held in Woodhall Spa on Friday evening.

Barry Cowan - a former professional tennis player who took the legendary Pete Sampras to five sets in a second-round draw at Wimbledon - was the guest speaker.

Cowan, after retiring from tennis, turned to sports presenting.

Boston Tennis Club was well represented at the evening after a successful 2011 season in the Aegon Team Tennis Leagues.

Boston teams from the many age groups were on hand to receive their trophies for winning the Lincolnshire Leagues.

Aegon Team Tennis 2011 winners from Boston Tennis Club included the under eight mixed side, captained by Tracy Hull, the under nines mixed, led by Vikki Coda-East, and the under 10 mixed, captained by Sarah Beardsley.

The under 12 boys and girls, led by Teresa McDonnell-Woods and Jayne Walsh respectively, and the under 16 girls, with Jackie Hawkesworth at the helm, were all winning teams.

The under 14 boys, captained by Rick Woolley, played in the Premier League and achieved a good standing in that division.

In the Lincolnshire League, the Boston Tennis Club men’s second team won the second division title, while the veteran men are the Lincolnshire Veteran League champions.

Joe Woolley won the boys’ Player of the Year and Madeline Verdegaal was the girls’ Player of the Year.

Dominic Beesley won a special achievement award for his performance in the men’s British Tour event in Cambridgeshire.

Dominic had won through two rounds of pre-qualifying, two of qualifying and one of main draw beating the number five seed who was ranked 45 in the country.

The team of the year was the Lincolnshire men’s team, including several Boston players – among others Dominic Beesley, Will Mason, James Shacklock and Mark Thompson.

The weather played havoc with outdoor tennis at the weekend, but Boston B team met and Boston F team in the Boston and District Winter League.

The B team – Jeremy George-Jones, Courtney George-Jones, Michael Audus and Geoff Short - won this encounter 3-1 against Boston F’s Helen Duckett, Daniel Maund, Dave Dunlop and Richard Sharpe.

Matches resume in the Boston and District Winter League this coming Sunday, weather permitting.

The Wilkinson Cup, to be played on Saturday, February 18, still has some spaces available.

However, they are limited.

Entrants need to sign the noticeboard in the clubhouse at the earliest opportunity.

l DETAILS: Boston Tennis Club on 01205 355502 or at6