Course Marshall! Adrian slashes PB to be crowned Boston Wheelers 25-mile champion

Adrian Marshall.
Adrian Marshall.

Adrian Marshall knocked almost five minutes off his personal best time to win the Boston Wheelers’ 25-mile Time Trial trophy.

He finished his scintillating ride in 58 mins 33 secs.

Last Tuesday’s ride also acted as the annual InterClub competition between Boston Wheelers, Spalding CC, Sleaford CC and Yello Velo.

The top three riders from each clubs’ scores counted.

On this occasion, the top three teams were divided by less than two minutes, with Sleaford Wheelers just edging out Spalding and Boston.

The overall winner, fresh from setting a new course record on Boston’s 10-mile course, was Sleaford’s Richard Hamblin (57 min 28 secs).

Five other Wheelers also set personal best times.

Results: Adrian Marshall 58-33 PB, Darren Smith 1.01-19, Martin White 1.01-47, Earl Taylor 1.01-49 PB, Neil Coles 1.06-14 PB, Pete Flint 1.08-27, Richard Leggate 1.09-09 PB, Nick Chapman 1.09-13 PB, Chris Clayton 1.12-01 PB.

The 2013 25-Mile TT Handicap Trophy was won by Richard Leggate, whiel it was unfortunate Yello Velo were unable to field a complete team to support Gary Foreman’s respectable ride of 1.02-28.

Craig Thursby’s road racing continues to improve.

Now a third category rider, he entered the Lime Kiln series and narrowly missed out on the points last Tuesday.

He also took on much tougher opposition in the Experian Cycle Live Nottingham Criterium on Friday, finishing in a superb 15th place in a race where the average speed was around 27 miles per hour.