Doubles delight for Geoff and Margaret

Local sport from the Boston Standard, Lincolnshire:, on Twitter @standardduncan
Local sport from the Boston Standard, Lincolnshire:, on Twitter @standardduncan

Geoff Presland and Margaret Wright won the Summer Daytime Doubles League at Boston Tennis Club.

Geoff was the overall winning man with 110 games accumulated over the lifetime of the league, followed by Jim Mackin (106).

The winning lady was Margaret Wright, who won 94 games in total, with Tracy Hull in second with 93.

Both the Winter Daytime Doubles and Summer Daytime Doubles are run on a similar basis, with each player in a doubles group partnering each of the other players and totaling individual scores.

All the games won by an individual are added up while the league runs.

The Winter Daytime Doubles is now up and running with any late entries in to the league welcome.

In the Bombay Brasserie Winter Singles League, Michal Chmielik is at the top of the main singles leaderboard.

In second place is Jeremy George-Jones, who has eight points to Michal’s nine.

Zach and Toby McDonnell-Woods follow on with six and five points respectively, while Ladi Hruban has four.

In group one this month, Michal Chmielik has to play Jeremy George-Jones, James Newton and Zach McDonnell-Woods.

In group two, Toby McDonnell-Woods competes with Ladi Hruban and Sripal Kumar.

In the Lincolnshire Veteran Doubles League, Boston Ladies’ Seconds played the team’s first match this season away to Grimsby Tennis Centre Seconds.

In Division Two, they travelled to Grimsby and lost only one set in a convincing win for the team of Joan Beale, Judith Walker, Claire Smith and Jane Hindmarch.

Boston Ladies’ Thirds made it three out of three in the team’s first season in the league, their Division Four contest seeing Hilary Calvert, Helen Duckett, Helen Cook and Denise Priestley defeat Spalding.

In the Boston and District Winter League, Boston B team played Boston D team.

Boston B’s David Cheer, Andy Clamp, Alex Camp and Sam Borbe only dropped one set to David Dunlop, Richard Cozens, Tom Cozens and Michal Chmielik.