Henry and Lucy are champions

Lucy Hull.
Lucy Hull.

Henry Beesley successfully defended his Boston Tennis Club Champion title, whilst Lucy Hull has been crowned the ladies’ winner for the first time.

Both succeeded at the Sleaford Road club’s Chattertons Closed Championships on Sunday.

Fantastic weather and a very good number of participants produced an excellent tournament with some great tennis at all stages of the championships.

This is the first time Lucy’s name will go on the ladies’ trophy, but for Henry it was a successful defence of the title won last year.

Richard Cook, the runner-up, pressed Henry in the final, winning the first set but narrowly losing in a third set tie-break.

Emma Mastin was the ladies’ runner up.

Lucy also competed in the girls’ singles and reached the final against Paris Wright, adding this title to her 2015 collection.

Henry, alongside Lewis Fisher, played the doubles final against Richard Cook and Steve Green in a repeat of the 2014 final.

This was another very competitive match for spectators, with Henry and Lewis winning for the second year in succession.

The ladies’ doubles was won by Linda Barrow and Emily Hawkesworth, who beat Sue Burnett and Lucy Hull in the final.

In the men’s singles competition there was also a section winner and this was played between Connall Newton and Harry Foster.

On this occasion it was Harry Foster who was the winner, but Connall had some good wins throughout the week.

The boys’ singles was won by Thomas Cozens, with Harry Foster the runner-up.

In the boys’ section final, Trent Hutson defeated Pamod Piyitissa.

The 16 and under boys’ doubles was won by Pamod, alongside Tom Mecklenburgh. They beat Max Mecklenburgh and Ben Robson in the final.

In mini tennis red, James Gedney and Emily Stukins were the winners with Jacob Felipes and Poppy Gibbons the runners-up.

At orange level, Hannah Willis was the overall winner and James Gedney the boy’s winner with James Burrell and Emily Cooper runners-up.

The green event was won by Alice Gamman with Lois Boothby the runner-up.

Devon Morgan won the green boys.

Mike Burnett and Alex Cobb took the seniors’ title for the second year and James Newton and Anthony Hulley were the runners-up.

The ladies’ senior final was won by Linda Barrow and Sue Burnett, beating Joan Beale and Helen Duckett in the final.