Johnson leads way to victory

Thomas Johnson.
Thomas Johnson.

Thomas Johnson led the A Team to victory in the third Boston and District AC Sportshall Athletics team competition at the B-Hive on Sunday.

Leading from the front, he won the under 15 vertical jump (48cm), the standing long jump (2.20m) and both the two-laps (22.1 secs) and four-laps races (48.8 secs).

Under 13 team member Shane Canham won the speed bounce (60), standing long jump (1.55m) and two-lap (24.3 secs) and four-lap races (52.5 secs).

Alena Osbourne secured second place in the under 11s one-lap race (13.2 secs).

Meanwhile, further A Team victories came from Ella Taylor and Toby Taylor.

Under sevens competitor Ella claimed first place in the speed bounce (17).

Toby Taylor, also an under seven, was the top competitor in three events.

He won the standing long jump (1.20m), one-lap (16.6 secs) and two-lap (35.4 secs) races.

The five members of the A Team won the overall standing long jump, amassing a combined event total of 12 points, winning the Sportshall Perpetual Team Trophy with 57 points.

Team Gold - including captain Abi Freeman, Alicia Baxter, Malena Baxter, Kenya Burgess and Lyle Burrell-Kenny - were just one point behind the A Team.

In third were Cream Donuts.

The team included Sophie Reader, Tuula Sohngen, Georgia Ward, Benjamin Rudkin, Lottie Apps.