National champs! Boston bowlers claim Mason Trophy

The Mason Trophy winners.
The Mason Trophy winners.

Boston Indoor Bowls Club has claimed another national title.

The ladies’ team secured the Mason Trophy, a competition for bowlers aged 60 and over.

The team defeated Mid-Gloucester in the semi-final 42-19.

This saw them book their place in the final where they downed Essex County in Nottingham.

Janet Vinter, Sue Simpson-Shaw, Jill Smith and Jean Cammack won 20-13.

Meanwhile, the other rink of Sue Hoyles, Rita Epton, Jean Thompson and Sheila King picked up a last-end count of five to win 19-14 and complete the memorable victory.