Park E keep up unbeaten record

Graves Park E remain unbeaten in the A.D. Dickinson Division Two of the Boston and District Table Tennis League.

With new signing Andy Gilbert, they won 6-4 at Lodgers H.

Gilbert beat Steve Marshall and Scott Raistrick in straight sets, but lost to Simon Raistrick, who won three of his team’s points.

Pete Dickinson (two) and Steve Clements (two) won the Park’s remaining matches, despite their side losing their doubles.

Wrangle B took on Lodgers D in what was to be their first win of the season.

And it was a whitewash at that.

Tony Hall, David Butler and Tim Sampson didn’t have it all their way, but got the neccessary results against Tony Kime, Graham Bonsor and Steve Blanchard.

Mick Maltby lost his unbeaten record when he met Simon Raistrick.

Despite that, his Graves Park B side won 8-2 against Lodgers H.

For the Park, Alan Reetham won his singles in straight sets, whiel Dave Graham also won his three.

Despite their victories in the singles, however, Dave and Alan came up against a resolute pairing of Simon and Steve in the doubles, losing in four ends to make the final score 8-2.

Wrangle B travelled to Penmaen C in high spirits following their comprehensive demolition of Lodgers D the previous week, only to find the Penmaen lads in no mood for charity.

Chris Cooke and Dave Smith both won their three, although Chris was taken the distance by Tony Hall, and Dave lost the second end 15-17 against Tim before going 2-1 sets down, yet still recovering to take the game in the final leg.

John Shortland beat David Butler, but lost out to Tim and Tony, before Dave and Chris capped the evening with a fine four sets win over Tim and David to give Penmaen an 8-2 victory.