Racer Sellars scoops Young Driver Award

Stuart Sellars in action.
Stuart Sellars in action.

Stuart Sellars, a 750 Motor Club racer, has been announced as the winner of the 2015 John Miles Young Driver Award.

The accolade comes following his achievements in the Locost Formula over the course of the season.

With eight out of 11 starts from the front row of the grid being converted to five race wins, Stuart finished fourth in the 2015 Locost Championship despite not contesting every round, an achievement that caught the eye of the award patron and former F1 driver.

The prize includes a generous £1,000 cash prize from John himself and the 750 Motor Club will match this amount in credit against race entry fees for 2016.

Speaking of the award, John said: “After much deliberation, taking into account race results, track craft, wet weather driving and performances relative to the opposition and equipment used, the contenders were finally narrowed down to Stuart Sellars (Locost), Bill Cowley (750 Formula), and Shayne Deegan (Stock Hatch).

“In the final analysis I felt that Sellars’ driving talent and, importantly, hard work on the technical side could carry him further.”

As well as the main award, both Bill Cowley and two-time Stock Hatch champion Shayne Deegan will be honoured with a runner-up prize from the 750 Motor Club.

This will consist of one free race entry to be redeemed in 2016.

The John Miles Young Driver Award will be presented to Stuart at the club’s annual awards and dinner dance on January 23.

Stuart is pictured in action earlier in the season.