School teams sprint ahead at county championships

South Lincolnshire Inter-Schools Track and Field Championships

Representative teams from local schools contested the 2012 South Lincolnshire Inter Schools Track and Field Championships at the Tommy Clay Track.

In the Girls competitions Boston High finished third in the Year seven and Year 10 A Leagues.

Middlecott was third in the Year 8 A Section and Haven High won the Year 7 B League. Thomas Cowley High School finished second in the Year 10 Girls B League and William Lovell secured victory in the Year 9 B League.

In the Year 10 A events Boston High provided one South Lincolnshire Zone Champion with Ellie Careless throwing the 600g javelin 21.07m for a narrow two centimetre victory.

Hannah Macloed was second over the finish line in the 1500 metres recording 5 mins 54.5 secs and Chelsea Butterfield was third in the 80m Hurdles clocking 16.5secs with Katherine Brennan finished in the same position in the triple jump clearing 8.32m.

In the Year 9 Girls A League Selina Wells scored maximum points for Boston High in shot 8m and discus 17.16m and also added value in the 100 metres with a third place run in 14.0secs.

Isabel Rushby finished runner-up in the 1,500 metres recording 6mins 3.9secs at the end of the three and three quarter lap race.

Haven High had two representatives in the Year 9 A League in the top three places with Nicola Nrbaniak claiming third in the discus with a throw of 14.71m and Emily Williams finishing in the same position in the 75m Hurdles recording 16.2 secs.

In the Year 8 age group the only local A Championship winners were throwers with Middlecott’s Natalie Jasper achieving 18.49m in the javelin and Boston High’s Molly Harrison recording 17.04m for victory in the discus.

The Middlecott 4 X 100m quartet finished third in the relay 61.6secs and their representative in the 100metres sprint Megan Featherstone recorded 14.6 secs in third position.

Three Boston High competitors also claimed third places with Emma Yallop putting the shot 6.13m, Jessica Davoit throwing the javelin 13.05m and Paige Bushell crossing the line third at the end of the 200 metres sprint.

At Year Seven level Boston High School’s Nesta Baxter won the A League javelin with a throw of 20.66m.

Two of her Boston High School team mates claimed second places with Lucie Scott runner up in the discus with 15.61m and Isabelle Porcher second in the shot with a putt measuring 7.41m.

In addition BHS had three thirds in the form of Jessica Pettit in the 800 metres 2mins 55.3secs Nesta Baxter 6mins 13.2secs in the 1,500 metres race and Kate Rollinson in Long Jump with a leap of 3.45m.

Four Schools were represented in the Year 10 Girls B League with Haven High Technology College athletes winning five of the 12 individual events.

Laura Hall won the shot 6.62m, Sophie Rowland-Shrubb took the javelin title 19.85m, Roxanna Pelc secured victory in the long jump 3.78m, Laura Hall the high jump 1.20m and Aurelia Cebula the 1,500 metres in 7 mins 7.6 sec.

The discus event was won by Lauren Christopher of Thomas Cowley High School 16.40m and from the same team Nina Stokes won the 300 metres in 61.9 secs and Ellie Bergh the 800 metres clocking 3mins 6.1 secs.

Winners of the Year 9 Girls B League William Lovell School had three winners with Lara Smith first in the 200 metres 29.6 secs, Cara Smith became the title holder over 100 metres with 14.1 secs and Jess Pearson in the 1,500 metres with a time of 7 mins 1.3 secs.

Giles Academy provided one winner with C. Butler clearing 1.36m for victory in the high jump.

For Middlecott April Pearson was first over 800 metres recording 2 mins 59.1 secs and Thomas Cowley representative Jemma Lee secured a double, winning both Shot 7.55m and Javelin 16.17m. and team mate Chelsie Mumby crossed the finish line first in the 75m Hurdles clocking 16.5 secs.

In the Year 8 Girls B League Thomas Cowley High School provided two winners through Lycia Elston in javelin 13.90m and Kirsty Taylor 75m hurdles completed in 17.1 secs.

Winners of the Year 7 Girls B League Haven High Technology College had three first places with Britney Weaver winning javelin 11.50m, Lia Hallam the 200 metres with 31.1secs and Shane Mccullock the 1,500 metres in 6mins 53secs.

Fifth team Giles Academy provided two winners in the form of Brookynee Dehaney in the 100 metres with 15.7 secs and Chiara Faratro over 800 metres in 2mins 53.4secs.

Thomas Cowley High and William Lovell representatives also achieved victories in this section with Cowley’s Charlize Arundell winning high jump with 1.26m and Lovell’s Melissa Wardell taking the honours in the Long Jump with 3.54m.