Squash stars claim their trophy haul

The squash finalists.
The squash finalists.

Boston Squash and Racketball Club held another successful club championships last weekend, with Mark Hildred retaining the title of club champion, a handle he has held unbroken since 1991.

Mark, who recently earned a call-up to the England over 45s team, beat Simon Kemp 15/10, 15/8, 15/6 in the Buchner Open final.

Ruth Simpson won the ladies’ event for the 11th time, beating 2003 champion Tina Favell in the final.

Dave Stones beat Stuart Dunlop 15/9, 15/13, 15/6 to secure his third over-55s title, while Hildred beat John Secker 15/9, 15/7, 15/8 in the over 45s tournament to capture a double trophy haul.

Ady Proctor won the over 35s event for the first time, overcoming the category’s seven-time champion Stones.

Ady also won the Racketball Open, beating 2012 winner Jon Hull 11/5, 11/3, 11/4.

In the racketball over-45s tournament, John Secker took top prize with a 12/10, 11/8, 11/9 win over Stuart Dunlop.

Thomas Johnson and Matt Brown contested the juniors’ final, with Thomas winning 3-0.

Perrie Broughton beat Pete Andrews by the same scoreline to win the main plate.

Pete did, however, overcome Mark Housam 15/13, 15/13, 15/7 in the over-35s plate, and in turn Housam - named the season’s most improved player - won the over 45s plate, beating Paul Smith 3-0 in the final.

George Cooper won the racketball plate, with Paul Smith the runner-up.

Paul also played in the final of the racketball over 45s plate, which John Payne won 3-1.

Pictured are (top, from left) Dave Stones, Mark Housam, Mark Hildred, John Secker, Stuart Dunlop, George Cooper, Ruth Simpson, Tina Favell, (bottom) Ady Proctor, Perrie Broughton, Pete Andrews, Simon Kemp.