Tennis club celebrates

Local sport from the Boston Standard, Lincolnshire:, on Twitter @standardduncan
Local sport from the Boston Standard, Lincolnshire:, on Twitter @standardduncan

Boston Tennis Club’s A green team and B green team have become the winners and runners-up in the Lincolnshire Mini Tennis Winter Indoor League.

It was the penultimate weekend for matches in the Lincolnshire Mini Tennis Winter League and Boston teams at both orange and green levels were in action.

In previous years this winter competition was a straight league event and a team consisted of all three mini tennis age groups - red, orange and green.

Using a different format this year, whereby winners emerge for all the different age groups, the leagues also conclude with play-offs between the winners of the various sections

First up on Saturday were the green teams.

Isabel Wookey and Lois Boothby represented Boston A team and they had only lost one rubber all winter, finishing top ahead of Tealby in Group A.

Boston B - James Burrell and Will Shears - had only lost two rubbers and ended top of Group B, ahead of Grantham.

When it came to the play-offs, Isabel and Lois faced Grantham whilst James and Will played Tealby.

Both semi-finals stood at 1-1 after the singles had been played, but both pairs moved in to the final against each other after having won the doubles rubber.

The final was won by the Boston A team 3-0.

Boston green C and Boston green D played the previous weekend in the fifth to eighth play-offs and they finished fifth and seventh respectively.

Team members included Bethany Hayes, Daniels Goreliks, Robbie Townsend, Freddie Robinson and Paul Aranin.

The orange teams sprung in to action with the semi-finals consisting of Boston A versus Boston C and Grantham A against Grantham B.

Boston A’s Will Pettitt, Joshua Brooks and Paul Aranin faced the C’s Emily Stukins and Jacob Felipes.

The match could not have been closer and every rubber went to three sets, but it was Boston C who booked a place in the final up against Grantham.

Grantham were the eventual winners, whilst Boston C took second place and Boston A claimed third.