Tennis team defeated in shootout

Henry Beesley, Felix Beech and Sam Kemp with Greg Rusedski.
Henry Beesley, Felix Beech and Sam Kemp with Greg Rusedski.

Boston Tennis Club’s Men’s First team just missed out in their Regional Aegon match at Loughborough.

With the contest finishing level at 3-3, the tie-break shoot-out saw Sam Kemp win his singles 11-9 and Henry Beesley lose 14-12.

David Cheer and Felix Beech lost the doubles.

Great Britain ace Greg Rusedski was visiting Loughborough and renewed the acquaintances that he made last year on his visit to Boston.

In the second match of the season for Boston Men’s Second - competing in the first division of the Lincolnshire Aegon Team Tennis League - won 7-6 at Lincoln’s David Lloyd Burton Waters Seconds.

Mike Burnett, Tom Cozens, Richard Cook and Alex Cobb were successful after the shootout.

Boston Men’s Thirds, in Division Two, were up against Burton Waters Thirds.

It was an 8-4 win for Boston’s Michal Chmielik, Ryan Frankish, Owen Jary and Toby Collett.

Boston Men’s Fourths - Michael Niedermeier, Zafar Khan, Terry Mastin and Rob Griffiths - lost 2-10 to Horncastle.

Aegon Team Tennis junior matches were under starter’s orders at the weekend.

The Girls’ 12 and under team, competing in the Premier League Midlands Division, played at a half way venue in Birmingham against David Lloyd Cardiff. Alice Gamman, Lucy Evans, Christie Halton and Stephanie Ainsworth missed out 4-2.

Boston Red C – Oliver Richardson, Antoni Chmielik, Joshua Robertson and Dawid Szymiczek - all competed in their first team tennis event, the eight and under boys being defeated at Deeping.

Boston Red A won at Grantham.

The team was Poppy Gibbons, Yasmin Everitt, Benjamin Rudkin and Matilda Clark.

The orange B team – Emily Stukins, Poppy Gibbons, Noah Freeman and Georgina Cameron - had a 14-6 win over Deeping.

The Boston Tennis Club’s Boy’s 12 and under teams had a thoroughly busy Saturday afternoon.

The A team faced the B team and had a good win.

William Cheer, Max Mecklenburgh, Thomas Mecklenburgh and Ben Robson made up the A team while Reece Anderson-Doherty, Harvey Vickers and Robbie Townsend represented the B.

The C team – Siddharth Anand, Frank Deri, Callum McMillan and Harry Banks - played Stamford but were beaten.