The A teams! Boston Grammar and Haven High show their track and field skills

Local sport from the Boston Standard, Lincolnshire:, on Twitter @standardduncan
Local sport from the Boston Standard, Lincolnshire:, on Twitter @standardduncan
Share this article

Two Boston school teams won their respective age group A Leagues at the South Lincs Schools’ Track and Field Championships at the Tommy Clay Track last week.

Boston Grammar School won the year eight boys’ league and Haven High Academy’s year 10 boys were also victorious.

BGS’ athletes scored a total of 92 points, giving them a 20-point advantage over runners-up Spalding Grammar, who were one point ahead of Bourne Grammar in third.

Alex Hackett won both the 100m (12.4 secs) and the 200m (25.8 secs) before playing his part in the victorious 4x100m relay team (55.2 secs).

Blake Garwell won the 1,500m by half a lap (4 mins 57.5 secs).

William Swain and William Parsons joined Alex and Blake for the BGS relay.

George Lilley was second in long jump (4.61m) and third in the dicus (21.18m), while Thomas Johnson was second in javelin (24.67m).

Haven’s year 10s chalked up six individual wins in the 13-event A League programme and finished with 111 points, comfortably ahead of Bourne Academy (93) and Bourne Grammar (92).

Iuri Cardoso won javelin (33.53m), long jump (5.33m) and 80m hurdles (12.4 secs).

Tiago Torres won the triple jump (11.87m) and added second place in the discus (21.54m).

Teammate Jacob Bilinski won the high jump (1.75m) and added a third place in the shot (9.64m).

Cameron Marshall achieved second place points in the 200m (25.3 secs) and the 1,500m (4 mins 30.1 secs) while the relay quartet were runners-up (50.3 secs).

Boston High School’s year 10 girls were second in the A League and their year 10 boys claimed the same finishing position in the B League, behind League champions Middlecott.

Giles Academy ran out winners of the year 10 girls’ B League and finished second in the year seven boys’ B League.

Thomas Cowley claimed seconds in both the year eight boys’ B contest and the year 10 girls’ B.