Third title for tennis C team

Local sport from the Boston Standard, Lincolnshire:, on Twitter @standardduncan
Local sport from the Boston Standard, Lincolnshire:, on Twitter @standardduncan

Boston Tennis Club’s C team have won the Boston and District Winter League for the third year running.

Dan Bambridge’s side clinched the title after victories over Boston B and Boston F.

Against the B team - currently in second - James Newton, Richard Longworth, Bambridge and Anthony Hulley were too strong for Ray Frankish, Jeremy George-Jones, Richard Tupper and Courtney George-Jones, winning 2.5-1.5.

The same team then beat the F team 4-0, Charles Tupper, Toby McDonnell-Woods, Richard Woods and Doug Motson failing to win a set.

Boston A faced Boston B, ending their hopes of winning the title.

The A’s Jack Morrow, Zach McDonnell-Woods, Calum McCaig and Ryan Frankish beat Geoff Short, Chris Cook, Mike Sweeney and Richard Tupper 2.5-1.5.

Boston A team – Ryan Frankish, Alex Gordon, Zach McDonnell-Woods and Jack Morrow – beat Billinghay 3-1 before Sam Felipes, Zach McDonnell-Woods, Iestyn Halford and Ryan Frankish backed that up with a 3.5-0.5 win over Horncastle.

Boston D team has had a recent loss and win.

David Dunlop, Michal Chmielik, Richard Cozens and Simon Beardsley lost 1.5-2.5 to Billinghay before beating Dan Maund, Paul Stevenson, Helen Duckett and Rebecca Beardsley, of Boston E, 3.5-0.5.

Boston F team had a draw with Billinghay, Toby McDonnell-Woods, Richard Woods, Maurice Lawrence and Charles Tupper levelled on sets but missed out on the number of games won.