Trophies collected

Local sport from the Boston Standard, Lincolnshire:, on Twitter @standardduncan
Local sport from the Boston Standard, Lincolnshire:, on Twitter @standardduncan

Boston Tennis Club’s Men’s and Ladies’ First teams start their summer season on Sunday with home matches in the Regional Division of the Aegon Team Tennis event.

The Men play Derbyshire in the East Midlands Division whilst the Ladies play Charnwood, a Leicestershire club.

The Ladies’ team, captained by Emma Mastin, won promotion in to the Regional Division after a successful year in the Lincolnshire Aegon Team Tennis League last year and a win at the play-off stage.

The Lincolnshire Winter Indoor Mini Tennis League concluded with the play-offs between teams from the two groups.

In the Red, Boston Tennis Club A team topped one of the groups and went in to the semi- final against Deeping, runners up in the other group.

The Mini Red A team of James Gedney, William Pettitt, Poppy Gibbons and Jacob Felipes won this match and then the team played Grantham A team in the final.

In a close match, the singles round was evenly pitched with some exciting close matches.

It was very close all the way through, the last of the singles rubbers was won by Boston, putting the team out of Grantham’s reach going in to the doubles and claiming the title.

Other Boston Tennis Club teams that achieved recognition recently at the Lincolnshire Tennis Awards for winning their age group Aegon Team Tennis Leagues include, at mini tennis levels, Boston Red A, Boston Orange A, who were both winners, and the Mini Green and Mini Reds in the Lincolnshire Winter Indoor Mini League.

More Aegon winners included Boston Tennis Club Men’s Second team and the under 16 Girls’ team.

For the Men’s Second Aegon team this means a place in the Lincolnshire first division and, for the team under the captaincy of David Cheer, one eye on achieving a place in the Regional Division.

Other Boston teams that were recipients at the recent Lincolnshire Awards evening were Boston Ladies, the Lincolnshire Slazenger Doubles League Champions under Rachel Atkinson’s captaincy, and the Boston Ladies’ Third team, led by Hilary Calvert, who were the winners of Division 3A.

Boston’s Men’s Seconds 
received the Division 3A