Trophy victory for the 12th year

Local sport from the Boston Standard, Lincolnshire:, on Twitter @standardduncan
Local sport from the Boston Standard, Lincolnshire:, on Twitter @standardduncan

Boston Amateur Swimming Club retained the annual Geoff Moulder Memorial 200m gala for the 12th year running.

The club fielded two teams in this gala, which also featured Wellingborough and South Lincs, as they made a strong bid to retain the trophy that they had held for the last 11 years.

And the Boston A team got off to a flying start – winning four out of the first five races through Lottie Street (girls 9/u freestyle), Kieva Clegg (girls 11/u breaststroke), Lewis McGarry (boys 11/u breaststroke) and Becky Pimlott (girls 13/u backstroke).

Boston B made steady progress with several personal best swims and mid-placed finishes.

Strong second-place swims from Archie Bulman (boys 11/u breaststroke), Eloise Winterflood (girls 9/u breaststroke) and Harley Maddison (girls 11/u backstroke) helped the B team keep a narrow advantage over South Lincs.

Further race wins were added by the A team’s Jessica Pettitt (girls 13/u fly and freestyle), Sam Macleod (Boys 13/u fly), Kieva Clegg (Girls 11/u fly), William Pettitt (boys 11/u fly) and Cavan Chambers (Boys 9/U backstroke and intermediate).

By the time the mixed relays were starting, Boston A were 26 points ahead of Wellingborough, already retaining the trophy.

Race winners: Charlize Arundell, Lewis Bontoft, Cavan Chambers (two), Kieva Clegg (two), Libby Dean-Allen (two), Sam Macleod (two), Lewis McGarry, Jessica Pettitt (two), William Pettitt, Becky Pimlott, Lottie Street.

Personal Bests: Myles Beagles, Aliesha Bower (two), Archie Bulman, James Hurley, Anton Kiss, Jessica Pettitt (two), Becky Pimlott, Alfie Prudden, Millie Prudden, Isaac Reed, Joe Reed (two), Lottie Street, Eloise Winterflood.

For more details about Boston Amateur Swimming Club, log on to