Young aces awarded

Local sport from the Boston Standard, Lincolnshire:, on Twitter @standardduncan
Local sport from the Boston Standard, Lincolnshire:, on Twitter @standardduncan

The Junior Awards evening was held at Boston Tennis Club on Saturday.

Not only did many of Boston Tennis Club’s Junior teams have fantastic seasons, but recognition was given for 2016 being a great year for Boston Tennis Club, winning Midlands LTA Tennis Club of the Year, Lincolnshire Sports Club of the Year and Lincolnshire LTA Tennis Club of the Year titles.

In addition David Cheer won The LTA National Volunteer of the Year, Frank Cammack was the winner of the Midland LTA Outstanding Achievement Award and coach Steve Wood won the Lincolnshire LTA Coach of the Year title.

Lucy Hull received an outstanding achievement award for her performance at the 2016 Lincolnshire Junior County Closed.

In the Aegon Team Tennis sections, the teams representing Boston included the Aegon Premier 12 and under girls in the Midlands Region.

The team of Stephanie Ainsworth, Lucy Evans, Alice Gamman, Christie Halton, Serena Morrow, Louise Sharp and Isabel Wookey were captained by Richard Gamman.

The 14 and under Boston girls, captained by Tracey Hull, played in the Aegon Premier Midlands Division and included Faith Coffey, Lucy Evans, Alice Gamman, Angela Halton, Christie Halton, Lucy Hull and Paris Wright.

The Lincolnshire Aegon Team Tennis League’s eight and under Division One was won by Boston A. Captain Penny Gibbons’ side included Jacob Felipes, Ben Rudkin, Billy Smith, Matilda Clark, Yasmin Everitt and Poppy Gibbons

Boston A also won the nine and under Division One. The team was Jacob Felipes, Noah Freeman, James Gedney, Finley Mackey, William Pettitt, Jacob Scuffham and Emily Stukins, captained by Rachel Gedney.

Boston A won the 10 and under Division One. Rachel Boothby captained Paul Aranin, James Burrell, William Shears, Lois Boothby, Hannah Willis and Isabel Wookey to success.

Boston B, captained by Steve Wood, won the 10 and under Division Two thanks to Joshua Brooks, Daniels Goreliks, Finley Mackey, William Shears, Emily Cooper and Katie Wood

The 12 and under boys’ Boston A team were runners-up in Division One.

Captained by Amanda Mecklenburgh, the team was William Cheer, Max Mecklenburgh, Thomas Mecklenburgh and Ben Robson.

Also runners up in the 12 and under girls’ section were Boston B. Captained by Phillipe Servonat, the team included Bethany Hayes, Serena Morrow, Isabelle Servonat and Louise Sharp.

Runners-up in Division One were the 14 and under boys of Boston A, William Cheer, William Cutforth, Lucas East, Max Mecklenburgh and Thomas Mecklenburgh, captained by Henry Cheer.

Boston B won the 14 and under girls’ Division One. Tara Priestley’s team included Faith Coffey, Cally Priestley, Louise Sharp and Paris Wright.

Nick Hart captained the 16 and under boys’ C team to the top of Division Two. Joseph Brookes, George Clayton, William Cutforth, Harry Groutage, Nicholas Hart and Joe Purkiss Tyzack were the team.

The 16 and under girls’ Boston A side won Division One. Denise Priestley captained Faith Coffey, Rosie Parkinson, Charlotte Priestley, Tabitha Priestley and Chloe Robinson.

In the Junior Autumn League there were more successes for Boston teams.

The 12 and under boys’ A team, captained by Henry Cheer, were runners up. Reece Anderson-Doherty, Seth Briggs Williams, James Burrell, William Cheer, Daniels Goreliks, Rohan Taylor Kharade and Robbie Townsend represented the side.

The under 12 girls’ A team - Alice Gamman and Hannah Willlis - won, whilst the under 12 girls’ B team were runners-up, thanks to Lois Boothby and Isabel Wookey.

The under 14 boys’ A team won their division. Joseph Brookes, William Cheer, Max Jones, Max Mecklenburgh, Thomas Mecklenburgh, Thomas Piggins and Harvey Vickers made up the squad.

The under 14 girls’ A team of Serena Morrow, Louise Sharp and Paris Wright were runners-up, as were the under 16 boys’ A team of Will Cheer, William Cutforth, Lucas East, Harry Foster, Max Jones and Connall Newton.

Also runners-up were the under 18 boys’ A team of Lucas East, Toby Mcdonell Woods and Robert Hayes, captained by Tom Cozens.

The under 16 girls’ A team captain Denise Priestley saw her side finish first.

The side included Faith Coffey and teammate Tabitha Priestley.