Yvonne and Martin pick up the Howes Trophy at Boston GC

McDowell and Frost, with Boston GC Club Captain Pete Keal.
McDowell and Frost, with Boston GC Club Captain Pete Keal.

Yvonne and Martin Schaffarczyk have won the Jean Howes Trophy at Boston Golf Club.

A total of 14 pairs competed for the title but, with a magnificent score of 42 stableford points, the Shaffarczyk duo finished on top of the leaderboard by two points.

In second were Lynn and Dave Worthington, with Mick Pond and Maureen Molson third on 34 points.

Twenty-three ladies played The Flag, a medal competition where flags are given to all competitors before play.

When the competitor has used up all their allotted shots, including handicap allowances, they place their flag where their ball finished.

Only one lady was able to reach the hole on the 18th, Ann Hodgson with a score of 93-21=72, with an eagle on the par-five ninth hole.

This saw her win the flag competition and the medal.

In second was Anne Wallhead with 96-18=77 and third went to Hilary Calvert (99-21=78).

Mark McDowell and Nicky Frost won the Ed White Texas Pairs Scramble at Boston Golf Club.

In second place were Andy Malkinson and Graham Tilmann.

The winners are pictured with Club Captain Pete Keal.