Booth begins defence of darts title in style

editorial image

The return of the Friday Night Individual Darts League saw Joby Booth begin the defence of his BSC Premiership title with a 4-0 victory against Deb Royal.

Debutant Phil Odlin was beaten 4-0 by Darren Aucote, which included a 90 finish.

Three 4-1 wins saw Pete Grooby beat Dave Holland, including a 15 darter, Championship winner Jamie Barnes defeated by Chris Royal and Grooby return to the oche to dish out some more punishment, this time to Mark. Simpson.

In the Pizza Perfection Championship, promoted champion Jimmy Birtwistle just edged out stalwart Harry Lee in a battling five legger.

Rob Scrubbs Hit a 180 on his way to a 3-1 winning start against Paul Taylor.

Rowena Watson was beaten 3-2 by Anthony Bennett, while Mick Flynn beat Wally Almond 3-1 and Stan Smith got the better of Matt Grant 3-0.

The All Sports Trophies and Engraving Division Two saw Alison Royal beat big sister Emma Grant3-0.

Arron Upsall lost 3-1 to Mark Baily while debutants Marcus Hales and Bradley Butler met, Marcus winning 3-0.

Ali Baker beat Carl Baily 3-2 while Ben Leadbeater beat newcomer Sammi Barsley 3-0, repeating the same scoreline to defeat Carl Baily.