Cross country runners battle cold conditions

Jack Clark-Atkins and Lloyd Thorn had a close battle.
Jack Clark-Atkins and Lloyd Thorn had a close battle.

There was a distinctly cold and wintry edge to the conditions for the final match of the Boston & District AC Junior Cross Country series of 2018.

Runners responded well and, despite the wind, produced some close finishes and good times at the end of the challenges set around the club’s

Punchbowl Lane meadow course.

Four youngsters lined up at the start of the years one and two contest over approximately 600m, with Evie Large (Bicker Prep School) finishing ahead of the field, recording a good 2 mins 48 secs at the finish line.

Three Bicker Prep representatives followed Evie into the finish with Henry Westwell second on 3 mins 13 secs, Emily Fisher third in 3 mins 44 secs and Chloe Fisher fourth in 3 mins 55 secs.

The years three and four competitors ran over a distance of approximately 1,200m, remaining in close order until the final few hundred metres.

Once again it was Bicker Prep School who had a representative finish first.

Toby Maude clocked 4 mins 18 secs, with Boston and District AC runner Erin Norton just four seconds behind in second.

The improving Theo Ward (BADAC) clocked 4 mins 36 secs.

Jessica Frick (BADAC) was the convincing winner of the years five and six event, leading from the start and recording 6 mins 34 secs at the end of the 1,600m challenge.

Jack Clark-Atkins (BADAC) and club mate Lloyd Thorn had a real ding dong battle throughout the race.

Positions were resolved in a sprint over the final 100m, with Jack clinching runner-up spot by recording 7 mins 12 secs, ahead of Lloyd who finished on 7 mins 14 secs.

Issy Reid (BADAC) was fourth, recording 9 mins 40 secs.

Two Boston and District AC under 13 athletes completed the 2,400m course for years seven and eight pupils.

Alex Frick prevailed, clocking a very encouraging 8 mins 20 secs, with Megan Reid crossing the finish line in 10 mins 47 secs.

The first Junior Cross Country Series of races in 2019 is on Saturday, January 19.